Shubho Bijoya!

I admire people who diet. I really really do, coz there is absolutely no way I can see a spread of delicious food and say to myself, no, I’m not going to eat that, coz it’s going to add 15 kilos to my already overweight frame. So even though there is a tiny voice in my head that says, hey, maybe it isn’t such a good idea to eat that tenth roshogolla after you’ve had three servings of khichdi, that voice is always drowned by Queen’s rendition of ‘We are the Champions’ egging me on. Repeat this over three days, and what you have at the end of it is a stomach begging for a day off.

So, while I detox on musambi juice, I’ll leave you with a few photos of Durga Puja in Kolkata, from the not-so-distant past (2011, to be precise). No food photos here though, coz I ate them all (the food, not the photos!), but these pictures are just a snapshot of the thousand-odd pujas in the city, of the variety in the design and themes of both the pandals and the idols. It is simply amazing how creative people get.

Santosh Mitra Square idol
The goddess in all her glory!
College Square
Viewed from across the College Square pond, you could be mistaken into thinking this pandal is a real building in Kolkata
Bagbazar chandelier
Not at some five-star hotel, but at one of the biggest pujas in the city. I know what you’re thinking. Holy mother of god, how much money do they spend? :O
Kumartuli
Sometimes, organizers go bonkers and come up with weird pandal themes, such as this ghostly cave which looks like a Scary House entrance, and was pitch dark inside
Tridhara Sammilani idol
Sherawali-inspired idols

You can see more photos of the Pujas in my Flickr set.

6 thoughts on “Shubho Bijoya!”

  1. Lovely photoblog. Pictures have come real nice!
    Unfortunately I couldn’t witness this year’s puja when I went to Mandir Marg’s Pandal (Delhi) because Bappi Da was there performing live and we were denied entry. Such a shame 😦

  2. Grand capture – the first one.
    I have seen Kolkata Pujas more than 2 decades back. Longing to see them again.
    Shubho Bijoya!

What are your thoughts?

